twitter.png   youtube.png   facebook.png

PCIA: Assessing Impacts

Assessing Impacts of Peace and Conflict Impact Assessments (PCIAs): A North-South Participatory Research Project

PCIA has had 15 years of use and adaptation. ‘Assessing Impacts’ is convening a North-South dialogue of academic-practitioners highlighting eight (8) cases from the Global South where PCIA was used in different countries, contexts and domains, and will reflexively assess lessons learned from these cases. Participants will share and then publish their experiences in a special issue of the Journal of Peacebuilding and Development, building on both virtual and in-person dialogue and conference processes.

The project will involve video presentations and online discussions of the experiences of eight Southern practitioners and several international experts; eight papers by the Southern practitioners and a bibliographic review of 15 years of PCIA literature to constitute a special edition of the Journal of Peacebuilding and Development; and a conference at York University in Toronto in May 2013. The process will contribute to the development of a PCIA community of practice committed to the critical development of PCIA theory and practice. It will also enable the crafting of effective tools of conflict-sensitive development.

Peacebuild has obtained a small grant from the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) for the project. ‘Assessing Impacts of Peace and Conflict Impact Assessment (PCIA): A North-South Participatory Research Project’ is a collaborative initiative spearheaded by Peacebuild: The Canadian Peacebuilding Network and Peacemedia-paixmédia, in association with York University’s Institute for Research and Innovation in Sustainability (IRIS) and the Journal of Peacebuilding and Development (JPD).

 

Introductions

 

Final Conference Report

You have no rights to post comments

twitter.png   youtube.png   facebook.png

PCIA : Estimation d'impacts

Estimation des impacts d'études d'impact sur les situations de paix et de conflit (PCIAs) : Un projet de recherche participative Nord-Sud

PCIA a expérimenté 15 années d'utilisation et d'adaptation. 'Estimation des impacts' convoque un dialogue Nord-Sud entre experts-praticiens professionnels et académiques qui présenteront huit (8) études de cas du Sud mondial où le PCIA a été utilisé dans de pays, contextes et domaines différents et évalueront par réflexion les leçons apprises de ces cas. Les participants partageront et ensuite publieront leurs expériences dans une édition spéciale de la revue 'Journal of Peacebuilding and Development,' avec une analyse basée sur le dialogue virtuel et présentiel et les discussions à la conférence.

Le projet consiste de présentations vidéo et discussions sur ligne des expériences de huit experts-praticiens du Sud et plusieurs experts internationaux ; huit articles des experts-praticiens du Sud et une bibliographie de 15 années de littérature sur le PCIA pour constituer une édition spéciale du 'Journal of Peacebuilding and Development' et une conférence à l'Université de York à Toronto en mai 2013. Le processus contribuera au développement d'une communauté de pratique du PCIA dévouée au développement critique de la théorie et la pratique du PCIA. En plus, le projet contribuera à donner forme à des outils efficaces pour le développement sensible aux conflits.

Paix durable a obtenu une petite subvention du Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) pour le projet. "Estimation des impacts d'études d'impact sur les situations de paix et de conflit (PCIAs) : Un projet de recherche participative Nord-Sud" est une initiative collaborative issue de Paix durable et Peacemedia-paixmédia, en collaboration avec le York Institute for Research and Innovation in Sustainability (IRIS) et le Journal of Peacebuilding and Development (JPD).

Introductions